Officers 2017-12-15T17:01:39+00:00

President, Executive Committee & Staff

Revd Prof Michael J Reiss
Revd Prof Michael J ReissCurrent President
Revd Professor Michael J Reiss is Professor of Science Education, University of London, UK and a Priest in the Church of England. Michael Reiss is also Vice President and Honorary Fellow of the British Science Association.
Prof Fraser Watts
Prof Fraser WattsExecutive Secretary & Past President
Prof Fraser Watts is a clinical and research psychologist. A Past President of the British Psychological Society, he is Reader in Theology and Natural Science in the University of Cambridge, and a Fellow of Queens’ College.
Prof Ronald Cole-Turner
Prof Ronald Cole-TurnerVice President
Dr Ronald Cole-Turner holds the H. Parker Sharp Professorship of Theology and Ethics at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary, a position that relates theology and ethics to developments in science and technology.
Prof Philip Clayton
Prof Philip ClaytonExecutive Committee
Philip Clayton holds a Ph.D. in both philosophy and religious studies from Yale University. He is the Ingraham Professor of Theology at Claremont School of Theology and Professor of Philosophy and Religion at Claremont Graduate University.
Prof Edward J. Larson
Prof Edward J. LarsonExecutive Committee
Professor Edward J. Larson is the Russell Professor of History and Talmadge Professor of Law at the University of Georgia and recipient of the 1998 Pulitzer Prize in History. He lectures on history, law, science, and bio-ethics for academic.
Prof Celia Deane-Drummond
Prof Celia Deane-DrummondExecutive Committee
Professor Celia Deane-Drummond is full Professor in Theology at the University of Notre Dame. She is also the Director of the University of Notre Dame’s Center for Theology, Science and Human Flourishing.
Dr Noah Efron
Dr Noah EfronExecutive Committee
Dr. Noah Efron chairs the Graduate Program in Science, Technology and Society at Bar Ilan University in Tel Aviv, Israel. He is also President of the Israeli Society for the History and Philosophy of Science
Dr Russell Re Manning
Dr Russell Re ManningExecutive Committee
Dr Re Manning is Visiting Fellow of St Edmund’s College, Cambridge. He is co-convenor of the revived series of Boyle Lectures in Science and Religion, held annually at the church of St Mary-le-Bow.
Prof Nidhal Guessoum
Prof Nidhal GuessoumConsultant to the Executive Committee
Nidhal Guessoum is an astrophysicist; he graduated from the University of California, and was a researcher at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center. He is Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the American University of Sharjah, UAE.
Prof Pranab Das
Prof Pranab DasConsultant to the Executive Committee
Pranab Das is Professor of Physics at Elon Universtity. His academic work spans the fields of neuroscience, nonlinear dynamics and chaos theory, the physics of granular materials, and science and the human spirit.

Past Presidents

Prof John Hedley Brooke
Prof John Hedley BrookePast President
From 1969-1999 John Hedley Brooke taught at Lancaster University, becoming a member of the International Academy of the History of Science in 1993. In 1995 he gave the Gifford Lectures at Glasgow University.
Sir Brian Heap
Sir Brian HeapPast President
Sir Brian Heap CBE ScD FRS is a biological scientist and research associate at the Faraday Institute, St Edmund’s College, Cambridge, and at the Centre for Development Studies, University of Cambridge.
Prof George Ellis
Prof George Ellis Past President
Professor George F. R. Ellis, FRAS is Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Cape Town. He has lectured at Cambridge as well as holding many visiting Professorships at Universities worldwide.
Revd Dr John Polkinghorne
Revd Dr John PolkinghornePast President
The late Reverend Dr. John Polkinghorne, KBE FRS worked in theoretical elementary particle physics for 25 years and was Professor of Mathematical Physics at Cambridge University from 1968-1979.